Admissions

MPH Admission Information

Professional Degree and Area of Expertise Offered

Area of Expertise: Public Health Sciences

Professional Degree: Master of Public Health (MPH)

Program Length

Three curricular programs are available to meet the needs of individual students. Please indicate the program on your application. Barring extenuating circumstances, program lengths cannot be changed after application.

2-year MPH Program

Recommended for most students. The standard 2-year MPH requires completion of at least 42 units over 2 academic years. The 2-year course also allows for time to complete an optional internship between academic years.

1-year MPH Program

Advanced students will complete at least 42 units of course work within 12 months. Eligibility for the 1-year MPH program is limited only to applicants with at least a master’s degree or equivalent in any of the health, medical, and welfare fields, and with at least 2 years of full-time professional work experience relevant to those fields (see below for specific list). It is highly recommended that 1-year program students reduce their professional responsibilities to less than 32 work hours per week.

Job Example List

  • Governmental agency(e.g. health and welfare, occupational safety, environmental health)
  • Public health insurance
  • Private health insurance
  • Hospital and clinic (junior residency is acceptable)
  • Health facility for elders
  • Pharmaceutical industries
  • Healthcare-related industries
  • Environment-related industries
  • Other health and welfare association(NPO, NGO)
  • Environmental health or occupational safety divisions
  • Health policy related or hospital management think-tank

※ Using the above as the basic criteria, final judgement of whether the two-year professional work experience requirement is fulfilled will take place during the interview.

3-year MPH Program

An extended 3 year course is available for students unable to complete 42 units in the standard 2-year period. The extended program may be appropriate for students with limited ability to take time off from professional obligations.

Admission Procedure Schedule

Block
First Block
Second Block
Third Block
Number of Students
to be Admitted
25
Application for
1-year Program
Qualification Screening
June 22 (Mon)
- July 3, 2020 (Fri)
November 2 (Mon)
- November 13, 2020 (Fri)
January 27 (Wed)
- February 12, 2021 (Fri)
Application Period
August 3 (Mon)
- August 28, 2020 (Fri)
(postmarked at least by Aug 28)
December 21, 2020 (Mon)
- January 12, 2021 (Tue)
(postmarked at least by Jan 12)
January 27 (Wed)
- February 12, 2021 (Fri)
(postmarked at least by Feb 12)
Notification of Examination
 Date and Time
September 7, 2020 (Mon)
January 18, 2021(Mon)
February 19, 2021 (Fri)
Admission Examination
September 26, 2020 (Sat)
Or
September 27, 2020 (Sun)
January 24, 2021 (Sun)
Or
January 25, 2021 (Mon)
February 27, 2021 (Sat)
Results Notification
October 5, 2020 (Mon)
February 1, 2021 (Mon)
March 2, 2021 (Tue)
Enrollment Period
Payment of Entrance Fee
October 6 (Tue)
- October 30, 2020 (Fri)
 
Payment of Tuition and
Facility Maintenance Fee
December 11, 2020 (Fri)
Payment of
Entrance Fee, Tuition, and
Facility Maintenance Fee
 
February 2 (Tue)
- February 26, 2021 (Fri)
Payment of
Entrance Fee, Tuition, and
Facility Maintenance Fee
 
March 3 (Wed)
- March 12, 2021 (Fri)
  • Applications by non-Japanese candidate living outside of Japan are accepted only in the first block due to the necessary time for the VISA procedures.
  • Applications from overseas must arrive at least on the last day of each application period.